Nominating commission seeking applicants for county judge

The nominating commission for the Fourth Judicial District will select nominees for appointment by the governor to the office of county judge for El Paso County.

The person selected by the governor will fill the position once held by Marla Prudek, who was appointed to the district court Nov. 9.

The group will meet Nov. 30 to make their final recommendation to Gov. John Hickenlooper.

To be eligible to be fill the vacancy, applicants must live in El Paso County and be admitted to the practice of law in Colorado. The current annual salary for the position is $123,067. The initial term of office is a provisional term of two years, and then the judge must be approved by voters for four-year terms.

Application forms are available from the office of the ex officio chairwoman of the nominating commission, Justice Monica M. Márquez, 101 W. Colfax, Suite 800, Denver, CO 80202; and the office of the district administrator, Mary Perry, 270 S. Tejon St., Colorado Springs, CO 80903. Applications also are available on the court’s home page at

An electronic copy of the application in PDF format must be filed with the ex officio chairwoman no later than 4 p.m., Friday, Nov. 23.

The members of the nominating commission for the Fourth Judicial District are: Mary Lou Makepeace, Lynn Olney, Trudy Strewler, Kenneth Valdez, Colorado Springs; Mary Barrowman, Florissant; and Julie Wolfe, Manitou Springs.