Under new management, Memorial hires 90

Filed under: Daily News,Health Care | Tags:, ,

In a significant sign that it is under new management, Memorial Hospital has hired 14 cardiologists, a breast surgeon and 75 other staff members just two months after joining University of Colorado Health.

All told, Memorial’s physician network has grown by 40 percent in three months.

The growth has included the acquisition of Pikes Peak Cardiology, the city’s largest cardiology practice, and the practice of Dr. Laura Pomerenke, a breast surgeon.

Memorial struggled to find doctors and physicians to work for, or affiliate with the health system during a nearly three-year discussion about its future, which ended when voters approved a multi-million deal to lease the hospital’s assets to UCHealth. The new group includes the University of Colorado Hospital, Poudre Valley Hosptial and Medical Center of the Rockies.

“Voters issued a mandate when they agreed to make Memorial part of University of Colorado Health,” said Memorial CEO Mike Scialdone in a press release announcing the hires. “We are wasting no time delivering on that mandate, moving forward boldly and swiftly to not just meet consumers’ expectations, but to set them.”

Other signs of change: Memorial was recently certified in stroke care, an important quality distinction for hospitals, and it became the first southern Colorado hospital to offer the O-arm, an advanced surgical imaging device.

“We have accomplished many things in a short amount of time,” Scialdone said, “but the truly exciting thing for patients is the fact that we’re just getting started.”

Memorial’s new physicians are now part of UCHealth’s Colorado Health Medical Group.

The newly hired cardiologists, under CHMG Cardiovascular and Thoracic Care, are:

•    David I. Greenberg

•    Ronald D. Blonder

•    David J. Schwartz

•    James M. Glass

•    Joseph R. Lee


•    David Rosenbaum

•    Nita Harris

•    Mary Olsovsky

•    Kimberly Dulaney

•    Jonathan Sherman

•    Chris Kim

•    Russell Linsky

•    Brad Mikaelian

•    Jorge Davalos