USOC names 2014 Paralympic swimming team

perkins_roy_1_800x375The U.S. Olympic Committee’s Paralympic division named its national swimming team for 2014.

Among the dozen Paralympic swimmers assigned to the A team are six reigning world champions, the division announced Thursday in a news release. Also named were nine athletes to the national B team and 15 named to “emerging and military teams.”

“As we continue to build the strength of the national team with our sights set on Rio, we are very excited to have so many decorated veterans who are personal medal winners, as well as a great group of up-and-coming swimmers on our 2014 roster,” said Queenie Nichols, high performance director for U.S. Paralympic swimming, in the release. “We already started the new year with a very successful team camp at the Colorado Springs Olympic Training Center, and I can’t wait to see what this group of talented athletes will be able to do over the next 12 months.”

Team USA is scheduled to begin the 2014 season March 27-29 at the U.S. Paralympic Spring Swimming Nationals and Springs Can Am, according to the release.

The teams, which include three Coloradans, are comprised as follows:

2014 National A Team


  • Cortney Jordan, Nevada
  • Jessica Long, Maryland
  • Letticia Martinez, New Mexico
  • Rebecca Meyers, Maryland
  • Noga Nir-Kistler, Pennsylvania
  • Elizabeth Smith, Indiana
  • Colleen Young, Missouri


  •  Tucker Dupree, North Carolina
  • Curtis Lovejoy, Georgia
  • Roy Perkins, California
  • Ian Silverman, Maryland
  • Justin Zook, Florida

2014 National B Team


  • Cailin Currie, Massachusetts
  • Anna Eames, Minnesota
  • Alyssa Gialamas, Illinois
  • Anna Johannes, Virginia
  • Martha Ruether, New York
  • Susan Beth Scott, Missouri


  • Cody Burkeau, Pennsylvania
  • Tharon Drake, New Mexico
  • Ryan Duemler, Missouri

2014 Emerging Team


  • Hannah Aspden, North Carolina
  • Reilly Boyt, Fort Collins
  • Brickselle Bro, Castle Rock
  • Leslie Cichocki, Illinois
  • McKenzie Coan, Georgia
  • Lindsay Grogan, Georgia
  • April Kerley, Ohio
  • Natalie Sims, Minnesota
  • Mallory Weggemann, Minnesota
  • Kayla Wheeler, Washington


  • Michael DeMarco, California
  • Robert Griswold, New Jersey
  • Luca McCrory, North Carolina
  • Tom Miazga, Wisconsin
  • Michael Prout, Massachusetts

2014 Military Team


  • Elizabeth Wasil, Colorado Springs

Photo of Roy Perkins, who has six Paralympic medals, by Getty Images.