USAFA cadets, faculty awarded at annual event

Filed under: Daily News,Military | Tags:

Five U.S. Air Force Academy cadets were recognized during the 18th annual Research Awards event for work they performed during a summer research program.

Four cadets were nominated for and one received the Thomas D. Moore Divisional Award for efforts in “radiation detection, flow dynamics for space satellites, predicting the future through fiction and tracking down cyber espionage,” according to an Academy news release.

The summer program allows about 170 cadets each year to go to college campuses and government offices across the country to work on “real-world research programs and discover new ways to solve existing issues.”

Faculty members also received awards from the Academy’s Scholarship of Teaching and Learning program and the Institute for National Security Studies, as well as with the Frank J. Seiler Award for Research Excellence for professors in STEM education. Two of the faculty members also were awarded the Robert F. McDermott Award for Research Excellence in the Humanities and Social Sciences, according to the release.

Dr. Mica Endsley, the Academy’s chief scientist and adviser to the Chief or Staff and Secretary of the Air Force, delivered a keynote speech at the event.

Awards nominees and winners included:

  • Dr. Tom McLaughlin, faculty dean of aeronautics, Seiler Research Award in engineering.
  • Dr. Timm Knoerzer, faculty dean of chemistry, Seiler Research Award in basic sciences.
  • Dr. Ismenia Sales de Souza, faculty dean of foreign languages, McDermott Award in humanities.
  • Lt. Col. Doug Lindsay, faculty dean of behavioral sciences/leadership, McDermott Award in social science.
  • Maj. Nathan Terry, faculty dean of physics, Martinson Scholarship.
  • Zach Decker, cadet first class,  Moore Award winner in engineering.
  • David Jorgenson, cadet first class, Moore Award winner for humanities.
  • Jack Hudgins, cadet first class, Moore Award winner in basic science.
  • Derek Randall, cadet first class, Moore Award winner social sciences.

    Decker was named overall winner.