CU names 2014 President’s Teaching Scholars

Filed under: Daily News,Education and Educational Services |

Three University of Colorado system educators, including Business Journal guest columnist Raphael Sassower, have been named 2014 President’s Teaching Scholars.

Sassower, a philosophy professor at UCCS, was honored along with Lisa Keranen, graduate studies director for CU Denver’s department of communication, and Helen Norton, associate dean for academic affairs at the University of Colorado School of Law in Boulder.

“The title of President’s Teaching Scholars signifies CU’s highest recognition of excellence in and commitment to learning and teaching, as well as active, substantial contributions to scholarly work,” according to a UCCS news release.

The release explained that faculty nominations for the lifetime designation are solicited by CU President Bruce Benson. President’s Teaching Scholars are educators who have been found to exemplify skillful integration of teaching and research, the release stated.

Sassower began his career with UCCS in 1986 and has since written 18 books, founded the Center for Women’s Studies, the school’s Film Studies Program and the Center for Legal Studies. His main area of interest is postmodern technoscience in the context of science and cultural studies.

“Professor Sassower’s commitment to his academic pursuits is evident in his excellent teaching evaluations, lengthy publication record, and testimonies from colleagues and students,” Mary Ann Cutter, professor and former chair of the UCCS philosophy department, said in the release.