Kudos! – May 2, 2014

Filed under: Kudos,Print | Tags:

Varnet earns CPFO designation

The Pikes Peak Library District Finance Officer Michael Varnet earned the distinction of certified public finance officer through the Government Finance Officers Association’s Certification program. To maintain the designation, individuals must participate in 30 hours of continuing professional education each year.

Pizzeria Rustica shines

The Green Restaurant Association selected Pizzeria Rustica in Colorado Springs as number nine of the top 20 Certified Green Restaurants in America. Pizzeria Rustica earned a four-star green rating in 2012 and is the only restaurant in the mountain states to be represented in the top 20.

Scandvic wins award

The National Insulation Association announced the 2013 Theodore H. Brodie Distinguished Safety Award winners at its national convention in early April. Among the honorees was Scandvic Enterprises Inc. of Colorado Springs.

KRCC wins award

KRCC News and News Director Andrea Chalfin received a regional Edward R. Murrow Award for excellence in journalism. The award in the breaking news category highlighted Chalfin’s work for her coverage of flooding in Manitou Springs.

GE Johnson wins contract

Colorado Springs contractor GE Johnson was awarded the joint venture contract to build the Vanier Football Complex and North End zone Project at the Bill Snyder Family Stadium. This is the third phase of the stadium master plan. The new $65 million complex will encompass 132,000 square feet of enclosed space as well as north end zone seating.

Radisson awarded

The Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs won the 2013 Radisson President’s Award. This is the 16th year the hotel received this award. The hotel was selected from more than 145 Radisson hotels globally.

Cheyenne Village kudos

The following persons will be honored at The Arc Annual Dinner May 17: Daniel Heinly, Arby Archuleta, Craig Schoelkoph, Kirk Redding, Karl Kreklow, Diana Kreklow, Bill and Jeani Redding, Betsy Cary, Nancy Snyder, Sandy Rodas, Mary Ellen McNally, Dr. Jessie Mastin, Dave Steere.